Donates $3,750 to local charities

The new Pawcatuck office of Jewett City Savings Bank opened recently with a traditional ribbon-cutting ceremony hosted by Kevin Merchant, president and CEO, and Shannon Haeseler, branch manager.

During the ceremony, Beth Frenette, immediate past chairman of the Ocean Community Chamber of Commerce, welcomed attendees to the Bank’s newest office located at 46 West Broad Street in Pawcatuck.

As part of the grand opening celebrations, the Bank invited members of the community to vote, through the use of wooden coins, for local charities to receive a donation from the Bank. At the end of the celebration, the Bank announced it would be making donations totaling $3,750 to the Pawcatuck Neighborhood Center, the Jonnycake Center of Westerly, The Pawcatuck and Westerly fire departments, the Wilcox Library, and the Westerly-Pawcatuck Downtown Business Association.

“Our new office is a reflection of our focus on our community, our customers, and our employees,” said Merchant.

In a video posted by the Chamber of Commerce, Merchant expressed his gratitude to members of the local chambers and neighbors for the warm welcome, as well as to town officials for their support and assistance through the permitting and renovation process.

He also thanked Ric Rovero, Michael Bourque, and the team from Engineered Construction for their efforts in renovating the office, which was originally built in the 1980s but has stood vacant for almost three years. Through their efforts, the Bank’s newest office features a contemporary lobby staffed with customer service specialists, a drive-up window, on-site parking and a 24-hour drive-up ATM for customer convenience.

In attendance were town officials including former US Congressman and previous First Selectman from the Town of Stonington, Robert Simmons. Joining Merchant and the Bank’s executive team were members of the Bank’s Board of Directors including Chairman Louis Demicco, Vice Chairman Gary Peloquin, Brian Andstrom, Diane Manning, Eric Moore, David Panteleakos, Gary Peloquin, Gail Rooke-Norman, Philip Tetreault, and James Thevenet.